A brief read of Volvo’s website tells us that in April 1994, two liveried Volvo 850 estate cars rolled up to the start line on the Thruxton track in southern England. It was the start of the season of the most prestigious standard car series, the British Touring Car Championship (BTCC). Alongside Tom Walkinshaw Racing – TWR – Volvo had initiated a major investment in the class, and the idea of using estate cars was a great success right from the outset. They attracted a great deal of attention and challenged Volvo’s image in a positive way, particularly in the UK. Volvo wanted to demonstrate that it was possible to combine practicality with pleasure! It was amazing to watch the two estate car sliding around the premiere tracks of the UK. It gave the series a shot in the arm and helped to establish the BTTC as an exciting contact sport in the living rooms of motor racing fans up and down the country.

The BTTC has seen many changes in rules, regulations and manufacturers over the intervening years, all designed to keep the series innovative and exciting, and has seen the viewing figures at trackside and on TV continue to grow. The latest series has just reached its climax and the fans were once again treated to a season full of thrills and spills throughout.

Honda Yuasa Racing’s Gordon Shedden has been crowned the 2015 Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Champion after producing a sensational drive in the final race of a dramatic season.

It was a contest that saw title rival Jason Plato surge into a commanding lead after Matt Neal’s Honda slid wide at Paddock Hill Bend on the opening tour, which meant Shedden had to finish in at least sixth position to claim the crown.

The odds seemed stacked against the Scotsman, who started the race down in a lowly 19th place, but the Honda Civic Type R driver went on a relentless attack that would prove fruitful after 18 laps of nerve-racking action played out in front of a record 42,000 crowd.

Three safety car periods curtailed Plato’s getaway in the early stages, and also gave Shedden the chance to close in on his next target. Plato’s Team BMR RCIB Insurance team-mate Alain Menu did everything he could to hold up Gordon’s charge as the pair made contact on a number of occasions. A puncture for Menu’s VW unleashed the Fife-based racer, who then produced startling move after startling move in what was undoubtedly the drive of his career to date.

He dismissed Sam Tordoff’s BMW with consummate ease to make it into the top ten, before carving his way by Andrew Jordan’s MG and Andy Priaulx’s BMW on lap ten.

Next up was Aron Smith’s VW with the Irishman keen to assist stablemate Plato. Shedden lined him up as the duo approached Clearways on lap 12 and when the VW ran slightly wide on the exit of the corner the Honda slipped down the inside. They ran side-by-side across the line with the roar from the crowd almost as deafening as the 30 flame-spitting BTCC machines performing in front of them. Shedden was through and now just needed one more place to clinch the most coveted honour in British motor sport.

That move came one tour later as Rob Collard’s BMW proved defenceless against Shedden’s ballast-free Honda, and he took another place in the shape of Adam Morgan’s WIX Racing Mercedes on the run up to Druids. An uncertain Shedden remained on the attack, however, and became embroiled in a further dispute for position with Jack Goff’s MG. Matt Neal eased his team-mate’s concern by slipping back to hand him fourth place and on the final lap Shedden eventually settled on his position.

Plato’s flawless display deserved victory as he crossed the line ahead of Mat Jackson’s Ford Focus and MG Triple Eight Racing’s Goff. While his 94th BTCC triumph extended his incredible victory record, it was unable to bring him his third title, but few could argue with Shedden’s performance in this race and throughout this unforgettable season.

The Honda Yuasa Racing crew lined the pitwall and the crowd rose to its feet as Shedden blasted across the line, seemingly in joyful tears, and the new 2015 BTCC champion was crowned.
Neal took fifth ahead of Morgan and Collard, Jordan, Smith and Priaulx completed the top ten order.

The day had begun with a dominant double for Motorbase Performance’s Mat Jackson as the Ford Focus proved the weapon of choice around the Brands Hatch Grand Prix circuit. The local team has enjoyed a stunning comeback to the BTCC having only entered at the midway stage of the season, as Jackson claimed four wins in the final two events.

Morgan took two third place finishes in the opening two bouts, while Team BMR RCIB Insurance’s Aron Smith and Speedworks’ Tom Ingram stood on the second step of the podium in races one and two respectively.

With the dust settling over another incredible tin-top season it was Shedden celebrating under the floodlights as he won the Drivers’ championship by just four points from Plato, with Neal beating Turkington to third in the standings. There was some joy for outgoing champion Turkington, however, as he claimed the Independent Drivers’ championship, whilst Team BMR RCIB Insurance took Teams’ and Independents’ Team honours.

There was double delight for Honda Yuasa Racing as it wrestled back the Manufacturers’ title from MG. Josh Cook’s first season in the BTCC with Power Maxed Racing proved a fantastic success as he won the Jack Sears Trophy for rookie drivers.

The 2016 campaign will blast into action at the Season Launch on 22 March. 

Gordon Shedden said: “I can’t believe it – I just can’t believe it! What an incredible day, what an incredible race! That’s touring car racing at its absolute best. To win it from that far back, I can’t believe it. It seemed like an impossible task but the Civic Type R was absolutely on fire with no ballast, I was just so desperate to win – wow! I’m almost lost for words, but the emotion is unbelievable. Sometimes the best way to keep it on the track is to keep pushing! To win it in the debut year of the Civic Type R and to get the manufacturers’ too is out of this world. It’s even more special than the first time.”

2015 Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship – Brands Hatch GP

Race 1

1.    Mat JACKSON (Motorbase Performance): 18 Laps
2.    Aron SMITH (Team BMR RCIB Insurance): +0.715s
3.    Adam MORGAN (WIX Racing): +1.889s
4.    Colin TURKINGTON (Team BMR RCIB Insurance): +3.920s
5.    Jason PLATO (Team BMR RCIB Insurance): +5.696s
6.    Gordon SHEDDEN (Honda Yuasa Racing): +7.260s

Race 2

1.    Mat JACKSON (Motorbase Performance): 18 Laps
2.    Tom INGRAM  (Speedworks Motorsport): +0.350s
3.    Adam MORGAN (WIX Racing): +1.460s
4.    Dave NEWSHAM (Power Maxed Racing): +2.904s
5.    Jack GOFF (MG Triple Eight Racing): +3.278s
6.    Jason PLATO (Team BMR RCIB Insurance): +3.588s

Race 3

1.    Jason PLATO (Team BMR RCIB Insurance): 18 Laps
2.    Mat JACKSON (Motorbase Performance): +3.536s
3.    Jack GOFF (MG Triple Eight Racing): +8.954s
4.    Gordon SHEDDEN (Honda Yuasa Racing): +9.086s
5.    Matt NEAL (Honda Yuasa Racing): +9.564s
6.    Adam MORGAN (WIX Racing): +10.079s

Click here for the final classification from the Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship races at Brands Hatch GP.

MotorMartin will be searching the TV listings in March to make sure the start of the new season will not be missed.

Where will you go?

Leave a Reply